The Eve Eve

Standard

No doubt the countdown has begun for most of the Gregorian calendar changeover, or what we also dub as a great excuse for a long weekend. So, I feel compelled to suck out a few minutes of your life and have you read this. Okay, really, it’s totally you’re fault. I haven’t said anything to make you vacate this virtual space, not yet anyway, not at least until the latest tweet distracts you, your kid pulls at your leg, or Morpheus calls you. I’m not sure what he calls you, but I’m sure it’s something good.

I’m just compelled to fill space, I guess, compelled to end the year with another blog notch to add to my non-existent blog belt, unless you count the stats and all things that track who’s following you, and all those wonderful “they love me!” widgets that applaud your ego, Klout and Kred, and all things social media juicy.

It is juicy, isn’t it. This –right here– this is what I have in the past called e-crack, and if I bothered to track it down, I’d find the video proving how it all stimulates all the right everything in our brains that it practically is a drug. Oh, the brain!!! I don’t know a thing about it, except that I have one, and that it works (most of the time), and can be fairly creative at times, but that falls flat if my secretary doesn’t show up for work. It’s weird. She has the same name I do.

You got that, did you? Emphasis on snarky. Ya. And, I’m not writing grammatically correct either in some of these sentences!! Fragments, repeated words…and a bunch of other geeky editorial stuff that wouldn’t mean much to most, but is well stored between my ears, filed under “Pet Peeves”.

The year is at a close and my To Do list is longer. I suppose that’s a good thing, only it all seems more daunting. Yes, yes, baby steps. Got that point. The problem with being creative (it’s a problem???) is that you’re interested in so many things, start a whole heck of a lot of projects, and if you’re lucky, the ten percent rule applies –you finish 10% of your projects. That would be faring rather well, in my books. Your books, if you’re more organized, should bode better.

A blog is a start. It’s that pin prick in your side that says “Hey, don’t forget about me!! You have followers now. An audience! Don’t forget about them. They’ll feel all sad, and hungry for words, those poor starving readers.” With great blogging, comes great responsibility. There is no guilt trip, rather, and I’d like to stay positive on this one, a look-forward-to. Yes, that’s a compound noun ending in a preposition. Creative licence. Writers can do that. They make stuff up all the time, change the rules, bend them a little. So many occasions require it, unless you’re in academia –different story.

Story. It’s all about story. Whether here, or as tweets, or novels. You have one. And here’s where I circle back to the whole celebrating the new year, and hoorah horrah, auld lang syne, sip some champagne (or mock, if that’s your style), and cheer to the hopes and aspirations we list, like the typical losing weight, look prettier, make more money…the generic goals that lose themselves in the minutiae of our lives’ routines somewhere around January second or third. Insert applause here if you make it to mid-month. Have another party if they last until February. Whatever you do, it’s your story. They’re your goals. And that you’ve read this far, yeehah!, I’ve just made one of mine.

Happy New Year, readers!!

2 thoughts on “The Eve Eve

  1. Nice last post (?) of 2011. And ending a sentence with a “compound noun ending in a preposition” made it all the better of a read. 🙂 Happy New Year to you too!

Leave a Reply

