Cheers from the Nano Finish Line

Standard

Image

The deadline hasn’t passed yet (for some time zones), and there are still many writers scrambling to meet the minimum 50,000 word count for this year’s National Novel Writing Month contest (NaNoWriMo). It’s been a great month, and I can’t say I haven’t learned anything. Tons, I’ve learned tons, and was reminded of some key points, too. This is my first year in Nano, and I cleared the word count at 50,200.
Joining Nano was concurrent with my joining Google+, and while I found nine other Nanos within the Nanowrimo website, my major connection to other Nanos was through G+, and some through Twitter. I got great support, and it was that wonderful connection to people following along the same word count woes as me that I found inspiring and encouraging. I did a few writing sprints online with other writers, but found that my own ten minute alarms worked best for this oft’ distracted writer.
I kept on chugging, but not before my first week and a half of outlining. That could have be done in October, only I didn’t find out about this contest until close to the third week of October, and Halloween, wouldn’t you know it, spread over four days (how does that happen?). My real push, as that is what deadlines are for, came in the last week. I only had one late night. I can type pretty fast, so that helped a lot.
Every participant is a winner because somewhere along the process between deciding to do it and November 30th are true nuggets each writer gains. Yes, completing the word count earns bragging points (like graphic above), but it’s for more than that. This is a contest of writer’s fortitude, the pushing through less than stellar scenes of what should amount to a novel, or the parts of one. Now December becomes the month of severe editorial surgery. What I’ve written might even be split into three different stories, or it might be completely scrapped and used as fodder for something else.
I loved it. I’ll do it again next year. Now, the real deal is making every month a novel month.
Who’s with me? (Just kidding! … No, not really)
Have fun writing!
Leave a Reply

